More of the K98-45 Mauser.

I was able to take the gun out today, and shoot it without other shooters around. She functioned flawlessly, the cheap gunshow magazine marked “COLT 45” works even better than the Chip McCormick one. I had ZERO feeding issues today.


I soldered on a rear sight sleeve, and a front sight. The finish I ended up applying was Brownell’s Park-grey. I had two out-of the box failures with the pricey gun-kote they sell. Truly a crappy product.

Next week I hope to properly sight it in.

8 responses

  1. This thing is beautiful! It desperately needs a Zombie Slayer finish, though.

    February 27, 2012 at 03:34

  2. Tyler

    Just strolling around the internet, looking at Mausers, and i want to say this is a beautiful rifle, now, I’m 18 in a year, wan to send me one for my first personally owned rifle? (;

    March 31, 2012 at 02:23

  3. James

    i’m in the process (my kit arrives today actually) of building one of these. How is the accuracy from yours?

    April 26, 2012 at 13:45

    • I haven’t really shot for accuracy, but it appears to be very acceptable for what it is – an open sight carbine.

      April 26, 2012 at 14:30

      • James

        fair enough. i’m putting a some low powered glass on mine, we’ll see how it goes.

        April 26, 2012 at 15:43

      • I had every intention to integrate a J-point base onto my receiver, but for some reason decided not to. I guess I like it simpler like that.
        I did build a second one, on a receiver with a peep sight installed, but I never heard back from the owner about its accuracy.

        Will you run yours suppressed?

        April 26, 2012 at 16:24

      • James

        if my leo doesn’t veto me, a suppressor i shall have. Shouldn’t be an issue, he’s signed off on a few SBR’s already.

        April 26, 2012 at 19:31

  4. “More of the K98-45 Mauser. Monkey Wrench” was a delightful post, can’t wait to
    look at more of your blogs. Time to spend a lot of time on the internet haha.
    Thanks a lot ,Wyatt

    February 14, 2013 at 15:23

Leave a Reply

