Mauser project revisited, with a new spin!

For a while now, I’ve had the urge of SBRing a Mauser, and cutting the barrel to 7″, turning it into an evil spirits defying flame-thrower/car alarm setter-offer.

I started off with a shot out M38 Turkish Mauser, I had rescued from an ATI plastic sniper stock, and a sporterized 98K stock I found on eBay.
After that, the project pretty much sat idle in my safe, awaiting time and money to continue.

And then I ran across Rhineland Arms, who sells a kit to convert a 98 Mauser into .45ACP. Fed by a 1911 magazine seated in an adapter, the gun features a 16.25″ barrel, and an extended ejector. And of course with my AAC Ti-Rant 45 suppressor on the way, I couldn’t think of a better project. No action noise and a short and handy subsonic pistol caliber rifle. a German/Turkish based abdomination of a DeLisle? William De Lisle will roll over in his grave if he finds out…

I decided to remove the shot out barrel from the receiver. I soaked the threads overnight with Mouse Milk, and heated a section of the barrel to red hot, about 6″ from the muzzle. Once the barrel was nice and hot, I bent the barrel 90 degrees, to ease the removal process. After carefully rigging the received in a vice, I added a cheater bar to the now 90 angled barrel, and broke the barrel free, easier as I had expected.

Then, with the barrel removed, I cut the barrel down to 16.5″ so I could make a mock-up of the rifle with a 16.25 barrel.

The barrel, removed from the receiver and cut to 16.5″.

Here she is, in all her glory:

I still have to come up with a solution for a sight. I’m not sure if I will be installing original Mauser sights, or if I am going to run a small red-dot. The benefit of a red dot is that it will clear a suppressor at the muzzle.

2 responses

  1. Matt

    Good luck with the Rhineland Arms 45ACP kit, I have seen several and none of them worked. RA has been impossible to deal with in the past too. Sad as I think a 45ACP Mauser would be awesome, its a project I have had on hold for about 6 years now, but mine is going to be integrally suppressed.

    -matt

    September 5, 2011 at 15:37

  2. Monkey_Wrench

    I’ve read about the ejection problems, and it seems the newer ones address that issue.
    Can you elaborate on the problems with the ones you’ve seen?

    September 5, 2011 at 15:52

Leave a Reply

