Shooting AR500 with M2AP

About a year and a half ago, I purchased a silhouette shaped piece of AR500 steel from Wideners. With a brinell rating of 500, the stuff is commonly used for armor plating.

The thing is tough. After over a year of abuse, with calibers ranging from 22 to 7.62x54r, and everything in between, including 62 grain M855 .223, the surface is showing some pitting, but that’s about it.

Today, I decided to see what the illustrious black tip 30.06 would do to it.
I brought my trusty M1 out, and an en-bloc clip of Lake City M2AP.

20110515-012245.jpg

First, obviously, don’t try this at home.
The first shot, from about 50 yards, only nicked the surface, as most other ammunition had done.
I decided to shoot it more. Second shot, another dimple.
As the plate came swinging back, I hit it dead on this time, as the plate normally hangs at a slight forward angle, to deflect most rounds down into the ground, and that seemed to have done the job.

The plate now has a hole. About a .30 cal hole. The black tip didn’t fully penetrate the plate, but it pierced a big hole, leaving a bulge at the back. Impressive, to say the least.

Will I feel safe from M2AP behind 1/2″ AR500? Not sure. Safer than not having anything, I guess…

20110515-013449.jpg

20110515-013506.jpg

20110515-013525.jpg

2 responses

  1. Erik in Texas

    Well played, sir. I wish I had time and money to go shoot my M1’s…

    July 13, 2011 at 15:49

    • Monkey_Wrench

      Thanks. The times I take it out are few and far between, but I enjoy them thoroughly!

      July 19, 2011 at 07:30

Leave a Reply

