Another NFA project.

After scanning through a “Post a picture of your SBR” on AR15.com, in the mix of all the short AR15s and few AKs, member viper5243 posted the following:

M48 SBR

and

Fireball

I had very mixed feelings. I was in awe of the shortness of the gun, also stunned by the sheer terror of a cut up C&R gun, while breathless of the size of the fireball, but yet attracted to it like the proverbial train-wreck you can’t look away from.
The decision was made after dreaming about it that night: I need to build my own.
It was definitely worth the $200 NFA tax to register one SBR.

(SBR is a registered Short Barreled Rifle, usually a rifle with a barrel shorter than 16″. SBRs, along with other items are regulated by the NFA division of the BATFE)

I contacted viper5243, and he informed me that it was built from a Yugoslavian M48 Mauser, had a barrel length of 9″ and on overall length of 26″.
This thing was a monster!
At first, I thought about cutting up my Russian Capture 98K.
Then I contacted a few Mauser sellers to see if they had one that would fit the bill.
No luck.

A few days went by, and I suddenly remembered the Mauser my buddy Charlie had mentioned, he purchased it years ago, it was sporterized and installed in one of those horrible ATI Sniper stocks. The ones with the plastic piccatinny rails. After discussing it with Charlie, he decided to shoot it first, to see how accurate it was, and then we’d possibly set a price. A week later Charlie called me up and told me it shot a fist sized group at 50 yards. I offered $40 and bought the rifle.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Mauser project revisited, with a new spin! « Monkey Wrench

  2. Pingback: Zombie Slayer SBR Mauser « Monkey Wrench

Leave a Reply

