Tweaking the Browning.

So after the range trip, I did some more research on the web, and it was suggested to me that I had an Israeli feed pawl spring in my gun, which was much stiffer than the one I should need.

Don’t ask me how, but now I am the owner of 27 new springs…

I also decided to order a new recoil spring, as I was having those failure to go into battery issues as well.

Upon inspection and comparison with my new one, I found that my original recoil spring had shrunk by about 1.75″ Overall Lenght!
I counted the same amount of coils, same thickness, but 1.75″ less OAL!
Reason enough to change it!

I also inquired about the lubrication needs of the gun, and was advised to make my own, by mixing some oils and lubricants together, to create a mixture called “Janet Reno Love Lube”.

After the springs were changed, the gun was cleaned and re-lubed, a new range trip was in order.

This time I chose the heavily policed Knight Trail Range, in Venice, as it is much closer to my house.
After convincing the range officers that it would be safe, and just like shooting prone, they gave me the green light to bring it. So the next morning, we got there bright and early and set up at the 100 yard line.


And sure enough, this time she ran like a champ! With very few exceptions, she ran just about flawless.

I had called up my buddy Charlie, and he came out to witness the gun as well…
Here he is feeding the belt.

After shooting it for a while, the tripod had dug itself into the shell and concrete (!) enough that we were actually seeing the impacts in the same area. So we decided to hang a target and see what we could hit. For the occasion, I decided for the first time, to flip the sights up…

And sure enough, we were able to dial it in, and hit the target quite a few times! We may have also hit the target stand a few times, but hey, if they don’t want it hit, it shouldn’t be downrange, right!?

All in all, a much better range trip, and at this point, I was very happy with the gun.

Leave a Reply

